Teaching

It was May 2014, and I was within a week of kicking off my first Startup Weekend. I had no idea how it was going to go. but in the three months leading up to that point, I had learned a huge amount about my city and the state of the tech and entrepreneurial community. Primarily:

  1. Developers were not well connected. Most of the people who made tech were in one company or had a network that was two or three people deep.
  2. There was no unified message or medium. There was a great deal of excitement, but not enough follow-through.

So a week before my first big public event, I decided that my next goal would be to create a better community for tech people, and to do that we needed more developers. I was talking with Wendy Veatch from the Wichita State Center for Entrepreneurship, and I told her that I wanted to teach people how to code. She thought it was great and wanted to incorporate it into a revamped program that would be named the Business Booster Series. That would ultimately not work for several reasons, but I have led some sessions, and helped with the lineup each time.

The problem of the network was exacerbated when I realized how detrimental the disconnectedness was to progress. I met and got to know a huge number of people through that event, but as the months progressed, I saw people move to larger cities at a shockingly high rate. About 20% of my network every month. I knew there had to be something that could be done.

I looked at Wichita like a storage tank. People are coming in, people are leaving, and in between people are colliding - creating the network of people. I can’t stop people from leaving. I’m not in travel & tourism, so getting people to move here seems unlikely. But I can turn more of the regular people into tech people.

Much more happened in between, but finally I sent out a tweet.

As of this writing, there are 70 people on the waiting list. There are 12 who started the beta classes. I am excited for the future.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Three of You

I love Reddit. I hate Reddit. It is the arm pit of the internet. It has the most uplifting moments that Humanity might ever experience. Some Posts and Replies catch my attention immediately, and some have to percolate for a day or two.... Continue →