Why teaching is hard

As soon as I started talking about building a program to teach people to code, most everyone was excited. Even people who were self-taught experts volunteered to teach. Volunteered.
Before I knew if people even wanted to attend the Beta class, the story had been picked up by local press. I was getting emails from people who had heard from a friend of a friend and wanted to join. The local educators were thrilled, citing the lack of programs on bureaucracy and inexperience.

Then I met the bureaucracy. #

I assumed this wouldn’t be hard. Go search EventBrite or MeetUp and see how many events there are that charge for “professional development.” Tons. And good for them! We need fast-paced learning for fast-paced age. But I didn’t want to assume, I wanted to be sure.

I contacted the Kansas Board of Regents (KBOR) and spoke with Craig Haugsness. I told him about what I was planning and what I was doing, and I asked him what I needed to do in order to be compliant with the statutes of the state. His answer was that KBOR had a questionnaire that I should fill out and KBOR would evaluate my answers. Once they evaluated those answers, they would determine if I needed to register with KBOR.

I told him I understood everything and I would be happy to fill out the questionnaire, but since I was just starting out and could make any changes I wanted at this point, I was more concerned with only doing what was allowed under law without KBOR oversight.

His response was I was asking for a “legal opinion” that he couldn’t give.

pause right there #

Am I to understand that the state institution is not able to tell me how they interpret the statue under which they operate? I mean, at that point, I was asking hypothetical questions about the point at which the KBOR decides, based on their own questions, that they need to oversee an institution.

Pick that narrative back up #

After my conversation with Mr. Haugsness, I got a legal opinion. Essentially, based on the statutes[K.S.A. 74-32, 162-183] the program that I was offering right now was:

  1. Not public, only those I selected were able to attend
  2. Was “avocational” (as in not necessarily fit for employment or improvement of vocation)

I received a letter from the KBOR on Friday, stating that I was in violation of K.S.A. 74-32, 162. I called Jacquelyn Johnson (Mr. Haugsness’ superior based on her title), and was told that Mr. Haugsness was no longer with the organization, that I was in fact in violation, and needed to speak to Jennifer Armour (Mr. Haugsness’ replacement based on her title).
I asked the same questions I asked perviously, “How can I operate and not be under the oversight of the KBOR?” The answer, “Don’t offer classes to the public.” My question: “How do you define ‘the public’?”

I left a message for Ms. Armour.

Yes, I am operating through perceived loopholes. Yes, these would need to be addresses when the proof of concept was ready to move to the next stage. Yes, this way of governing education started to protect students from shelling out $$$$ for a piece of paper. No, I don’t think the statutes are actually working. Yes, it is stifling to innovation.

In the mean time, don’t teach a neighbor kid how to play basketball, in case her plan is to go pro. Don’t teach your friend to clean the bathroom in case they become a janitor. Just be safe and don’t teach anything to anyone. (Yes, this is hyperbole, but I’m pissed. Also, you’ll have to look up “hyperbole” on your own. I’m not going to teach you what it means.)

I will keep this updated with news and progress.

 
6
Kudos
 
6
Kudos

Now read this

An Open Letter to the Kansas State Senate

When I first read about Kansas Senate Bill 304, I felt shame. As the morning has turned to night, my feelings have turned to anger. My own Senator, Sen. Oletha Faust-Goudeau, is a member of the sponsoring and introductory group, the... Continue →